Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 3rd, 2008

No Firstborn Ever Spoke Thus©

1.
Where, where have you been, son?
Your supper lay untouched for all to see;
The sitting down to sup was fit
For feast unto the dead.
Do you not think we care?

‘Mother, you are easily moved to care
But stronger than hunger you made me.’
No firstborn ever spoke thus.

2.
Where, where have you been, son?
Your brethren stopped short their play
In ill conceal’d annoyance, I think-
And joy was thoroughly spoilt
Are they not good for you?

‘Mother, they still have you to hold
But out of love’s narrow fold you set me.’
No firstborn ever spoke thus.

3.
Where where you have been, son?
Your hands are bloody; so is your crown
What hands could make you suffer so
With nails as sharp as these.
Do you not think we care?

‘Mother you are easily moved to care
But stronger than death you made me.’
No firstborn ever spoke thus.

benny

12-24-2006

Read Full Post »

While William IV urged Melbourne to accept the Garter he remarked,”A Garter may attract to us somebody of consequence which nothing else can reach. But what is the good of my taking it? I can’t bribe myself.”
6
In those days most important church appointments carried political implications. Despite all efforts to avoid a storm it would still result in harassment from least unexpected quarters. He was so much harried by such intereference to remark thus:”I have always had much sympathy with Saul. He was bullied by the prophets just as I have been by the bishops, who would if they could, have tied me to the horns of the altar and slain me incontinently.”
7.
Recalling his past experience Lord Melbourne when informed of the passing of a bishop he exclaimed:”Damn it! Another bishop dead.”With a sigh he added,”I believe they die to vex me.”
compiler:benny

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,989 other followers