Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 28th, 2012

The book was not bound in dust cover;
And there was in it dog-eared appreciation
Of nameless eyes that with zest did devour.
I scanned the volume from cover to cover
Yet the thought was left in mint condition;

ii

Then took the other leather bound in gold
Within were pages, abstract passages of cant
Being sorry no space for both was in the hold
I chose the bromides the wisdom of men of old
That the world in general love descant.
iii

In vellum and leather bound was wisdom
That suits man in statecraft and cloth well;
Such ideas and deeds that rang man’s freedom
I could perceive was what it lacked : wisdom
Of cant howev’r stood me exceedingly well.
iv

At graves mouth men have sighed before
I wonder what might have had I picked
The book of plain prose instead of the other.
The beguiling cant needs be in gilt and thunder
Served and my red and benefice to it owed.

benny
This is a take off on Robert Frost’s
The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by
And that has made all the difference.

Read Full Post »

If best things in life are free, why we occupy Wall Street or any other?
2.Why kill over religion? Merely because one makes a cut in his penis why demonize the rest of those who do not? Especially considering both parties hide it away for shame?
These riddles are unlike the other sort, solved only when one has thrown off the mortal coils of life. So don’t try it at home. Just file it away for future use.

Read Full Post »

Man is a funny animal. Common sense tells him to mind his step. But his uncommon sense tells him to listen to his inner voice instead.
2.
Common sense tells him to keep his secrets close to the chest but he blabbers it all to some shrink who happens more often than not, a total stranger. He calls it uncommon sense.
3.
Sure his common sense is so common that cannot keep to the beaten tracks well tested. The old adage ‘a bird in hand is worth two in the bush’ will not do for him. He plays at stocks what he cannot afford hoping there is a greater fool out there to save his goose from cooking. He calls that his uncommon sense.
4.
Science gives man How and religion tells Why his universe works in a manner of speaking but his common sense cannot get the point.
What does his uncommon sense say? Perhaps both may work in my case, according to my special needs.
5.
Uncommonsense without some plain commonsense makes a fool; similar man without a touch of feminine qualities makes a brute.Yet we carry on battle of the sexes as though it is a honor or ego thing!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,615 other followers