Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 10th, 2012

‘Life is so simple even a child can handle it,’said my father to my mother when they sent me to school first time. It was reassuring to my mother and I wasn’t sure of my slate and pencil, which I broke in fright. ‘School’- was enough to make my hand turn butter! Believe me I got so used to the idea of slate so well that we soon were inseparables. But one day it all changed and when my teacher pressed a transcription book into my hands and said, ’paper is the stuff of future.’ I soon got on to it like duck to water just as I had with my steel pen and inkwell. Only my mom had lots of laundry and inkstains that needed extra care.
In the end what did it matter I had a neat andwriting to be proud of? When computer came I had to let my fingers do the walking. Moon walking it would seem. lurching finger cannot get that copperplate gait. No way! Now my handwriting is a cut above chickenscrawl. Progress is a way forward and it steps over slates and paper takes you to paperless halls where you type yourself in for a job. This you may repeat so often that there is a curious disconnect between fingers and grey matter.
I find IBM research lab has come up with 5 life-changing innovations.
Power from the people
Anything that moves or produces heat has the potential to create energy that can be captured. On a personal level, while you’re riding your bicycle to work, devices on the spokes of your wheels could be recharging batteries you could later use to power some of the lights in your home. Wait till the government gets into the act. Walking, jogging, bicycling no one will be spared unless one can prove one’s net worth is the prescribed limit. Super rich will be only asked to throw their weight around.
Governments shall not pay dole unless John Doe earned so many points. This credit of personal power shall be linked to his social security number.
You are your password
Each person has a unique biological identity. Your biometric data—facial definitions, retina scans and voice files—will be composited through software to build an individual’s unique online password, IBM researchers said. Now it is no more Big Brother is watching you but Big Brother Gotcha!
‘Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, will you step over here, please?’
My multi-factor biometrics is no guarantee the money that I draw will not fail on me.
I will draw so many drachma or dollar and find it cannot buy me a decent meal. At least I shall know I am me and none other.

Mind reading gets real
Now comes a real whopper!Mind reading may make the leap from science fiction to real life sooner than expected, the researchers in Armonk, N.Y., said. Priest Abuse is restrained as a result. Altar boys will know while the host is raised what is raising the priest. And they can act accordingly. Only Monsignor’s woolly brain will be counting sheep while whetting the predatory nature of the new priest.
If you link your brain to devices such as a computer or smartphone and be able to levitate inanimate objects by just thinking about it how smooth life would be? You need not need to catch they eye of your waiter in a restaurant but he will come to you. Only he cannot gurantee he will not trip over and spill water over your head.
If you think like about calling someone, for example, the smartphone would then dial that number. On the reverse you cannot escape calls dogging your private thoughts. (2 be concluded)
benny

Read Full Post »

Read Full Post »

For those who believe God as the creator an eccentric is the left handed image of God. The good side was engaged elsewhere, obviously. For those who think evolution has led us this far I can explain an eccentric as one who is an exception to the rule. In the gene pool of mankind eccentrics are copy of some aberration or mutations that are not as interesting as the manner they conduct their lives. In my school days I came to read of the father of Sir Antony Eden (of Suez Canal fame).Sir Anthony Eden’s father it is said,looked at the barometer that read sunny weather. Outside it was raining cats and dogs so he tore the barometer off the wall and threw it out saying,’See for yourself, fool!’ Ever since I thought England was noted for nobs and eccentrics. I looked to the east and what do I find but eccentrics, not to mention the similar motley crew of knaves,fools and mendicants. I found quite a few worth mentioning here..
Al-Mahdi of the Third Abbaside (775-785), father of Haroun al- Rashid
was as eccentric as the best in the West.
Al Mahdi was known for cutting the throats of all his carrier pigeons, making a man dine off marrow and sugar and having snow sent to him at Meccah, a distance of 700 miles.
Abd al-Malik, the seventh Ommiade (715-719) loved to eat. He died after eating at one sitting a lamb,six fowls,seventy pomegranates,and 11 ¼ pounds of currants. He was proud of his looks. He seemed to have said,’Mohammed was the Apostle and Abu Bakr witness to the Truth;Omar the Discriminator and Othman the Bashful,Mu’awiyah the Mild and Yazid the Patient;Abd a-Malik the Administrator and Walid the Tyrant;but I am the young King!’
But these are nothing compared to Omar bin Al-Khattáb (Caliph634-666) whom the Sunnis know as Al-Adil or the Just; whereas the Shi’ites hate his memory for usurping the position of Abu Bakr. He was known for his harshness and austerity. Because of his height the shi’ites have an expression,’This road never ends like the entrails of Omar’. He was the companion of Prophet Mohammed. In fact the Prophet had an expression,’All long men are fools save Omar, and all very short men are knaves save Ali’)
It is said that he laughed only once and wept once. The laugh was caused on recalling how he had inadvertently eaten the dough-gods* of the Hanifa tribe. He cried when he remembered how he buried alive his baby daughter who, while the grave was being dug, patted away dust from his beard and hair.
It is said he lost all his friends for speaking Truth. He was murdered by by Abu Lúlúah alias Fírúz, a slave of Al-Maghírah for denying him justice.
(Ack: Burton’s translation 1001 Nights/Vol.2 -footnote)
*dough gods are made from enucleated dates pressed together like cakes and cut into slices This cake is called ‘Ajwah..
I could go on but this list makes my head reel. Let me get some fresh air and look at my potted plants. It must straighten my spirits out. What do the plants need from you? They require a little sun, water, nutrients. They do not ask much; nor do they kill because of my religion. Sometimes I think I have read too much about whores, fools freaks who may be pointed out for elegance and looks, but these are nonetheless bad company.
Poor or rich I find them arrogant in their own way. Holy or profane do they mend their conduct to show their real worth in deeds others can understand. Oh no!
benny

Read Full Post »

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,017 other followers