Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 15th, 2008

The Elder Brother

2b-brothers-meeting.jpg

Tales From One Thousand and One Night

Currently I am illustrating the stories from Burton’s classic.
It is a venture I have tried earlier in the 70s and 80s.
The illustrations are taken from the first episode titled The Tale of Two brothers from which rest of the tales evolve. Perhaps I may be able to collect them all into a series of graphic books. Richard Burton’s translation is in 16 volumes and the stories are on a grand scale with wealth of characters and locales to put off any one who hopes to complete the project in a lifetime. Well I shall never know unless I give it a try.
The first illustration shows King Shahriar, the misogynous elder brother.

Second is titled Two Brothers Meet and the last one shows Shaherazad On Her First Night.
benny
7-sheharhazad.jpg

Read Full Post »